Preparing Fresh Water Chestnuts

Traveling presents a unique opportunity to investigate cultural neighborhoods. On my recent trip to San Francisco, I made my way waterchestnutsweb.jpgdown the hill to Chinatown. The morning sidewalk markets, with their colorful produce and odd-looking fish, buzzed with activity.
I watched a wrinkled woman sort through the fresh water chestnuts, accepting or rejecting each one, using a level of expertise that I did not share. I grabbed a couple of handfuls, hoping for the best. (I later learned to press each one, discarding any with soft spots.)
Once home, I discovered how easy fresh chestnuts are to prepare. Time-consuming yes, but easy.
Slice off each end, then cut off the skin all around the little cylinder. Slice the pure white meat thinly. Once peeled, they brown quickly. Keep in cold water until ready to use. Add them to a stir-fry near the end of cooking, they just need to be heated.
I added my find to some leftover Chinese take-out, reheating in the microwave. Oh my gosh. Crisply crunchy, each chew releasing an increasing sweetness that is totally absent when canned. Fresh water chestnuts are definitely worth the effort.

Leave a comment